Dr. Michael-Angelo James

Dr. Michael-Angelo James is the son of Mr. Sylvester James and the late Mrs. Juanita P. James.He is a licensed Gospel minister since August 10, 1980, ordained in May 1983 by Reverend Dr. Eugene James Menefee. In December 1989, he received and accepted the call to serve as the full-time Pastor of Emmanuel’s International Cathedral of the Holy Spirit. The installation celebration as pastor took place in February 1990. The Board of Directors of Emmanuel’s International Cathedral of the Holy Spirit, Inc. elected Dr. Michael-Angelo James as their Senior Bishop in 1998. His consecration service, held in February 2002, was an international recognition. He became the first consecrated Bishop of Progressive Interfaith Ministries Association as well as the 22nd International Bishop of the Trans-Atlantic and Pacific Alliance of Churches. Archbishop Dr. Leonard David Love conducted the services. Dr. James’ recognition by the Queen of England, London, England, was in January 2003. He reaffirmed as Bishop-Primate in March of 2008. He is the establishmentarian of the International Cathedral of Faith Fellowship (2003). Dr. James has served as the overseer of the Church of God in Claxton, Georgia, since 2000. His elevation to the Metropolitan Archbishop of the Global Conference of Bishops under the leadership of the Ecumenical Patriarch, Archbishop Dennis Myles Golphin, debuted in 2018.

He is the father of one son, retired Army Captain Marshall Lee James, seven grandchildren, and numerous godchildren. He is a Bestselling Author, Licensed Clinical Pastoral Counselor, Teacher, and Scholar. He is a member and Chaplain of the Exchange Club of Waycross, Immediate Past-President of the Kiwanis Club of Waycross, and Immediate Past-President of the Okefenokee Toastmasters Club #8269. He is the Charter President of the President’s Distinguished Swamp Talk Toastmasters Club #7478359 (2019-2020). He is a member of the Ware Children’s Initiative, Waycross-Ware County Chamber of Commerce Executive Board Director, and Glennville Chamber of Commerce. He serves as the Immediate Past Chairman of the Waycross and Ware County Planning Commission. He is president of the Waycross Area Ministerial Alliance (F.O.C.U.S.: Fellowship of Christian under Shepherds) and a member of the Okefenokee Ministerial Fellowship. He is the saxophonist in the Glory Band of Claxton, Georgia. He is a member of the Early Risers’ Plug and Play and the Okefenokee Heritage Center. He is a Volunteer Chaplain for the Georgia Department of Corrections since 2006. He is a Silver Life Member of the N.A.A.C.P. He serves as Executive Director of his local branch in Waycross, Georgia. He is a Life Member of the Grand Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated as well as a member in good standing. He serves as reporter and Chaplain of the Brunswick Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated. He is an Executive Board Member of the Waycross Y.M.C.A. as well as Executive Board Member of Action Pact (formerly Concerted Services). He is the Past-President of the Main Street of Waycross Executive Board. He is the recipient of the highest honor bestowed by Toastmasters International, The Distinguished Toastmaster Award. He serves as District 14, Area H83 Director, 2019-2020, and Area H82 Director, 2020-2021, Toastmasters International.

Author of 3 Best-Sellers:

  1. “Trusting God to Supply Your Needs: Perspectives on Exercising Your Faith” (2003);
  2. “Leader, Can You Stand the Test?” (2004);
  3. “Just Because God Said It: A Journal of Prophetic Predictions and Pronouncements” (2010).

He is a friend of the Okefenokee (Waycross-Ware County) Library.

Counselor, Licensed Clinical Pastoral, Advanced Pastoral Counselor: He is the Founder and Proprietor of the Bishop’s Chamber Christian Counseling Center (1032 Waller Street, Waycross, Ga). The chamber provides for Individual Counseling, Group Counseling, Premarital, Marital, and Post-Marital Counseling. He is a Court Appointed Special Advocate for Foster Children powered by Action Pact. He is President of the STEP Up A workgroup (Prevention Workgroup). He is a member of the Early —Risers, L.L.C., Mentorship Program for Ware County High School’s Football and Basketball Players.

Teacher: He is a former Waycross High School Social Studies Teacher and Assistant Principal at Waycross High and Ware County High School, as well as a former adjunct professor at Truth Bible College. He serves now as the founding Chancellor and Professor of Christian Education of the World-Wide Accredited Emmanuel’s Bible College (Sites: Waycross, Georgia, Claxton, Georgia and Glennville, Georgia), the Graduate Professor of Pastoral Administration at the First Born Seminary and Training School in Waycross, Georgia, and Professor of Interpersonal Relations and Professional Development at the Coastal Pines Technical College (Main Campus) in Waycross, Georgia.

Scholar: He is an honor graduate of Waycross High School. He has earned both sacred and secular degrees: Troy University: Bachelor of Science in Education — Political Science and History; Emory University’s Candler School of Theology: Master of Divinity; Valdosta State University: Master of Education — Secondary Education, Social Sciences, Leadership, Administration and Sociology; Truth Bible College: Specialist —Christian Education; Truth Bible College: Doctorate — Christian Education; Truth Bible College, Sarasota Academy of Christian Counselors, and National Christian Counselors Association: Christian Counseling Certification and Licensing. He is a member of the Joint College of Bishops in Cleveland, Ohio, and a graduate of the Waycross-Ware County Chamber of Commerce’s Leadership Waycross Class of 2017. He is the newly elected Mayor of Waycross, Georgia. He receives the oath of office on January 7, 2020.

Some other notable achievements:

  • 2011 voted Man of the Year for the State of Georgia
  • 2012 M.L.K. Holiday Celebration Parade Marshal
  • 2016-2017 Kiwanis Club of Waycross Ted Harris Human and Spiritual Values Award
  • 2018 Jack Williams Community Service Award
  • 2019 Distinguished Georgia Kiwanian
  • 2020 The Distinguished Toastmaster Award, Toastmasters International


Voting Districts map